Go Back   CICENetwork - Forums > Motorsports > Track Events

Old 08-24-2016   #1
illinipo
CICENet Posting Master

Rolex 24 2017

Looks like I'm going Any tips? Wife and 2.5 year old in tow, probably gonna have a hotel off-track.

We had threads in 2010
http://www.cicenet.net/showthread.php?t=8108
http://www.cicenet.net/showthread.php?t=8010

and 2009
http://www.cicenet.net/showthread.php?t=5504

and 2008 from this guy digitalseance... who is that guy anyway?
http://www.cicenet.net/showthread.php?t=1882

jvb went to grand-am in 2012
http://www.cicenet.net/showthread.php?t=12028

Otherwise I'm a Grand-Am/ALMS/Continental/IMSA/TUDOR/whateverthehelltheycallitthesedays rookie.
illinipo is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 08-24-2016   #2
jvb6806
Administrator

DigitalSeance was a dude that used to autoX an 02 WRX way back in the day. He moved to SC or something like that a long time ago...

I have been to several Rolex/IMSA/Tudor/Weathertech Endurance races at RA over the years. I saw both races one year when the series was slit.

It is by far the most laid back and open professional race I have ever been to. There is no assigned seating, at least at road america the pits are open the whole day to walk though and see the teams working, and they try to get the fans as close to the cars and drivers as possible. They even put all of the cars on the false grid and let you walk up and down and look at all of them before the race starts.

I don't know if things will be that open at Daytona... but from what I have seen on TV it looks pretty laid back there too.

The infield is just a huge camping party at RA, and it appears to be the same at Daytona.

Rolex24 is one of my bucket list races... keep us posted on your experiance.
Old 08-24-2016   #3
DisplacedNE
CICENet Posting Master

Awesome! I have been working on the wife for 5 years of this. So far, failure...even with her having family in Daytona. Enjoy, hopefully get to learn from your experience.